Ƶ governance

Ƶ (Ƶ) is a Higher Education Corporation by virtue of the Education Reform Act 1988. As a Higher Education Corporation, the university is listed as an exempt charity under Schedule 3 of the Charities Act 2011.

The university has three key decision-making and governing bodies: the Board of Governors, the Academic Board, and the University Leadership Board.

The Board of Governors is Ƶ’s supreme governing body and is responsible for defining and upholding the overall character and mission of the university, and the effective and efficient use of its resources. The board is supported in its role by five committees, each with a clearly defined remit, including audit, finance and performance, and people and culture.

The University Leadership Board is Ƶ's executive committee and plays a crucial role in developing and implementing the university’s strategy and plans.